Confessions of an Exclusive Pumper!

10526193_10152556670776147_972704431769668537_n

I had a baby, Mr. Hayes, just two months ago and have had SO MANY inquiries on how I keep him fed, while EXCLUSIVELY pumping. So I decided to start a series on my blog, called, Confessions of an Exclusive Pumper! 1 or 2 times a week, I will write about my experiences as a mom who wants the benefits of breastfeeding, but can only do so while pumping! So, lets start with my story…

I breastfed all four of my babies, each I breastfed just a little longer than the last. With Ryker (my 4yr old) I breastfed for 6mo, and had pumped enough for the rest of the year. I was so super pumped to be able to do  this for my son, but when Hayes (my 2mo) came along, it was a bit of a challenge…

Hayes was born on July 15th, 2014. With less than a push, Hayes made his debut into this world. Unfortunatly, the doc said because of this, Hayes had fluid in his tummy from birth that would normally compress out. Because of this, he was “full” everytime i tried to nurse. So, the nurses pumped his tummy, not once, not twice, but three times. During this transition, they fed him formula. We had to stay an extra day in the hospital to try to get Mr. Hayes to eat like a newborn would Unfortunatly, after countless tries with a lactaction consultant, Hayes would NOT take the breast. But, he would take a bottle.

So, what did we do? WE pumped. And pumped and pumped. Of course we couldnt buildup a supply well enough to feed Hayes, I still pumped as much as I could.

Sanford supplies the Medela Symphony while you are in the hospital (a $2-3000 pump) and this pump worked amazing! But the lousy lower grade medela pumps unfortunatly did not. So, I rented out the Symphony! At Sanford it is only $65 a month, and if you do the math this is still WAY cheaper than formula, and much more beneficial! They say, that for an EXCLUSIVE pumper, you should invest in a higher grade, or hospital grade pump, and I highly reccomend the Medela Symphony!

So, what did I do?

The first weekend home, I pumped 10 min on, 10 min off every other hour. This means, I pumped for 10 minutes, rested for 10 minutes, and then after an hour rested for an hour. By the weekday, I was full, and ready to rock!

I also made sure to include A LOT of water and oatmeal into my diet. This did wonders!

I made sure to continue pumping at least every two hours after this! I know it is hard at night to wake up every two hours, but for those first few weeks, DO IT! your body, baby and health depend on it! It is a HUGE benefit to your weight as well!!

Stay tuned, for the next CONFESSIONS OF AN EXCLUSIVE PUMPER!

 

Thanks Staci Kinghorn of Something Clicked Photography for the AMAZING picture of my son, Hayes!

Leave a Reply

